What is it?

Earthworks Complete‘ is a Summerfold Records box set reissue of drummer Bill Bruford’s Earthworks’ entire back catalogue across its 20-year career. 15 titles on 20 audio and 4 DVD discs. Includes previously unreleased and little known material.

What’s in it?

  • 15 titles on 20 CDs and 4 DVDs document the 20 year history from 1987 to 2006 of one of the UK’s brightest, most travelled and best loved young jazz ensembles.
  • Featuring Bill Bruford with Iain Ballamy, Django Bates, Patrick Clahar, Laurence Cottle, Tim Garland, Steve Hamilton, Tim Harries, Mark Hodgson, Mick Hutton, Gwilym Simcock.
  • All audio, visual and print materials compiled and curated by Bill Bruford.
  • Additional original artwork by award-winning illustrator, photographer and filmmaker Dave McKean.
  • Includes postcard of Dave McKean artwork signed by Bill when purchasing from designated online stores while stocks last
  1. Earthworks
  2. Dig?
  3. All Heaven Broke Loose
  4. Stamping Ground- Live
  5. A Part, and Yet Apart
  6. The Sound of Surprise
  7. Footloose and Fancy Free (2cd)
  8. Random Acts of Happiness
  9. Footloose in NYC (2cd & 1dvd set)
  10. A Video Anthology Volume 1: 2000s (2cd & 1dvd set)
  11. A Video Anthology Volume 2: 1990s (2cd & 1dvd set)
  12. Earthworks Underground Orchestra
  13. Earthworks in Santiago, Chile (1cd & 1dvd set: previously unreleased video)
  14. From Conception to Birth (17 short tracks showing the process from demo to master, with explanatory notes from Bill Bruford)
  15. Heavenly Bodies Expanded (2cd ‘best of’ collection across the entire catalogue, with explanatory notes from Bill Bruford)

What do people say?

  • This is a heady concoction indeed, and one which joyously breaks down all sorts of musical barriers in its path. (The Times, London)
  • It mixes up styles, moods and meters as effortlessly as it ignores musical boundaries. (Wall St. Journal)
  • Earthworks makes jazz out of just about anything handy… (Jazziz)

How do I get it?

Available soon for pre-order from selected outlets: details to be advised.